Some Poster Tack/Padding Tips

M

morninghello

Hey, folks. I’ve been using poster tack to cushion my XL cups for about five months now, and I think it’s a great way to pad the rims and spread the pressure out more. Here are some things I’ve found.

I cover the tack in clear plastic wrap (the kind you use to cover leftover food or something). This helps avoid getting slimy tack all over your skin (particularly necessary since I like to use a lot of lotion and oil). I use two pieces of wrap (per cup) that are about five inches wide and the length that the wrap is when cut off of the roll. Make sure to pull the wrap tight so there aren’t too many ripples. Also smooth the tack pieces down so they are blended together. When you first use them after adding the wrap, you may have trouble keeping suction for that session, but every time I’ve redone the tack and wrap, it’s only the first session that I have issues with it. By using the plastic wrap, you don’t really have to replace the tack since it stays dry and clean. Just reshape the tack and replace the wrap (what a slogan!).

To make the domes a little smaller, for transitioning to the next size cup or if a size is too large for your frame, putting the poster tack around the inside of the rim rather than just on the rim is very helpful.

If part of the dome is digging into your armpit area or somewhere, place some of the tack on the outside rim to cushion the edge.

If you can’t find the gummy type poster tack (usually blue or white), or you just want to try something firmer, molding clay is another option. The kind that comes in a bunch of different colors that you bake is harder but still moldable.

Any other tips or things you’ve tried? Hope these were helpful!

S

sissy2345